Miss Teen USA

What is She Talking About?

Miss Teen South Carolina

Question: Recent polls have shown a fifth of Americans can’t locate the United States on a world map.  Why do you think this is?

Miss Teen South Carolina: “I personally believe the U.S. Americans are unable to do so because, uh, some, uh…people out there in our nation don’t have maps, and, uh, I believe that our education like such as South Africa and, uh, the Iraq everywhere like, such as and…I believe that they should, our education over here in the U.S. should help the U.S., err, uh, should help South Africa and should help the Iraq and the Asian countries, so we will be able to build up our future for our…

Miss Teen USA did get a chance to redeem herself on Tuesday night…This is what she said:

“I would love to re-answer that question,” Upton said. “Well personally, my friends and I, we know exactly where the United States is on our map. I don’t know anyone else who doesn’t. And if the statistics are correct, I believe there should be more emphasis on geography.”

I’ve also posted video for you guys check it out:

I honestly feel sorry for this girl…I mean she could have atleast asked the question again, to get a couple more seconds to regroup and execute more clever answer.

What are your thoughts?

4 Comments

Filed under Africa, Culture, Current Events, Education, Life, Media, News, Politics, School, Thoughts, Video, World

4 responses to “Miss Teen USA

  1. …I’m lost… The question was only for the American populace right? How are those other countries relevant? O_o?

  2. wilco278

    I think her answer proved the question.

  3. Aliki Godi

    This is a symptom of a much bigger problem in our society…too much focus on looks, athletic prowess, etc. and very little attention to education & smarts. Why learn anything when your good looks & who you know can pretty much get you almost everything?

  4. Ngoc

    Teens nowadays are more focusing on how they look but not their education. I got lost half way through her answer.

Leave a Reply

